Car Accident Insurance Coverage in Los Angeles, California
Under California Law, it is illegal to drive without insurance or proof of financial responsibility in the form of a surety bond for $35,000 from a licensed business in California and can lead to stiff penalties.
When uninsured drivers are involved in a collision that causes injuries, the financial fallout can devastate their livelihood. California is an at-fault auto accident state, which means when a crash occurs, the at-fault driver or his or her insurance company, must cover the damages of any injured parties.
At the Land Legal Group, our Los Angeles personal injury lawyers understand that while the cost of insuring a vehicle may be high, the consequences of driving without car insurance can be overwhelming.
What Is the Average Cost of Car Insurance in Los Angeles?
The average annual cost of auto insurance throughout the United States is approximately $1570.
The State of California’s annual car insurance rates is estimated at around $1750.
In Los Angeles, car insurance rates are much higher than both the state and national averages, totaling over $2,500 per year.
What Factors Determine My Insurance Rates?
Each driver is unique, which is why insurance rates are different for everyone in Los Angeles.
The factors that determine your overall monthly or annual rate can include:
- Type of vehicle being insured
- Location of the vehicle
- Driver accident history
- Traffic violations and accumulated points
What Is the Legal Minimum Car Insurance Coverage Drivers Must Carry in California?
In the State of California, drivers must carry auto insurance coverage amounts for at least:
- Property damage liability coverage: $5,000 minimum
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $15,000 per person
- Bodily injury liability coverage: $30,000 per accident minimum
Drivers must always carry evidence of valid insurance coverage in their vehicle.
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in California?
There are severe consequences and penalties for driving without car insurance coverage in California.
The minimum penalty for a first offense of driving without insurance is $100, with a total cost of about $450 with added fees and penalty assessments.
A second offense of driving without car insurance within three years can lead to fines between $200 and $500, with fees and penalties that total $900 to $2500.
In addition to the fines, your car can also be impounded if you are caught driving without insurance. If you are involved in an accident while driving without car insurance, your license could be suspended for up to four years. You could also be held liable for property damage and injury costs for all parties in the accident if it is determined the collision was your fault.
In most cases, if your insurance is canceled for any reason, the insurer will report the cancellation to the California Department of Motor Vehicles, which then takes steps to suspend your vehicle registration for up to six months.
Contact the Land Legal Group for More Information on Uninsured Drivers
If you have been involved in an accident with a negligent driver who has insurance or who is uninsured, contact our Los Angeles County car accident attorneys at the Land Legal Group today by calling 310-552-3501 to schedule a free consultation to discuss your injuries and legal options in pursuing the financial recovery you deserve.